Club News

AIB League kicks off

September 30th, 2008

The AIB League kicks off nationwide this Saturday, 4th October with a full list of fixtures accross all three divisions. Connemara start off their league campaign with a home fixture against Sunday’s Well RFC who make the long journey to the Monastery Field, Clifden. Kick-off in this match is 2.30pm.
This will be the first of four October matches. Connemara play away to Barnhall on Oct 11th and then play at home to Suttonians on the 18th and Portadown on the 25th.

Deadline For Away International Ticket Applications

September 9th, 2008

The deadline for applications for 6 Nations Away Internationals is Friday, 10th October ’08. This is earlier than usual but these earlier deadlines have been set by the IRFU.
Any applications will not be accepted after this date. Fully paid up members may apply on the official ticket application form which is downloadable from the International Tickets page on the website.

AIB CUP DRAW – Rounds 1 & 2

September 4th, 2008

The draw for the opening two rounds of the AIB Cup took place today at the AIB Bankcentre in Dublin. The knock-out cup competition brings together all 48 AIB League clubs from the four provinces. Connemara RFC meet Barnhall RFC in round 1. The winning team in this clash will go forward to round 2 to play away to the winner of Nenagh Ormond v Landsdowne.
The first round of the draw includes the 32 clubs from Divisions Two and Three of the AIB League. The winners of these games will then go forward to the second round to play the 16 clubs from Division One of the AIB League.
The first round of the competition will be played on the weekend of September 27/28 and the second round will be played on the weekend of November 1/2.
The draw went as follows:

Match A: Instonians v Rainey Old Boys

Match B: Highfield v Sundays Well

Match C: Connemara v Barnhall

Match D: Bruff v Clonakilty

Match E: Malone v Queen’s University

Match F: UCC v Greystones

Match G: Nenagh Ormond v Lansdowne

Match H: Bective Rangers v Galway Corinthians

Match I: Midleton v Old Wesley

Match J: Dublin University v County Carlow

Match K: Old Crescent v DLSP

Match L: Belfast Harlequins v Banbridge

Match M: Naas v Ballynahinch

Match N: Wanderers v Thomond

Match O: Ards v Suttonians

Match P: Waterpark v Portadown


St. Mary’s College v Cork Constitution

Winner O v Winner I

Winner G v Winner C

Winner H v Terenure

Galwegians v Winner B

Winner A v UCD

Dolphin v Winner E

Winner F v Winner P

Young Munster v Winner L

Winner M v Winner J

Winner K v Winner D

UL Bohemians v Dungannon

Blackrock College v Shannon

Garryowen v Winner N

Old Belvedere v Ballymena

Buccaneers v Clontarf

Thanks to our many Sponsors and Supporters

Sponsors Clifden Station House David Jameson Group Clifden SuperValu The Oil Company Clifden